Health & Fitness
Sponsored by

Aches and pains. When not to push through them?

826 Views | 5 Replies | Last: 3 yr ago by SACR
harge57
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I feel like I'm getting old, but I'm only 33. I feel like I'm constantly on the fence on when to push through or back off.

I started lifting regularly again after an 18 month hiatus. I got back up in weights pretty quick doing the 5x5 program so 6 to 8 weeks in I started having some hip pain and now having a bit of shoulder soreness. I have been doing some serious hip mobilization work and deloaded on squats and am working back up which seems to help but we will see as I move back into more serious weight. Now this shoulder thing is starting to nag at me.

This experience along with some it band soreness from running seems like all parts of my workouts are turning into rehab sessions.

How do you make the decision on when to back off?
bigtruckguy3500
A good rule of thumb is that when pain is asymmetric, it's not from the workout itself, and may be a sign of underlying injury/imbalance/susceptibility to injury.

If you moved up in weight quickly, it never hurts to cut back on weight/volume for a while. Having 1-2 days a week dedicated to yoga/pre-hab/rehab is a good idea. Or you could also just split those days up and start every workout with 10-15 minutes of dedicated rotator cuff work, lateral hip work, stretching and mobility, etc.

And at some point, you have to be honest with yourself and figure out if you're lifing to be as big and strong as possible, and are ok with injuries that may come from that? Or if you want to lift for longevity and you want to keep lifting when you're in your 70s.

You could also be like the guy at my old gym who was in his 60's probably, held several powerlifting records at some point in his life. Walked with a limp, hunch, and almost a twist in his torso, but he continued deadlift despite the pain you could visibly see him in.
ttha_aggie_09
AG