Health & Fitness
Sponsored by

Compression Shorts for running

1,595 Views | 28 Replies | Last: 5 yr ago by AggieOO
AggieOO
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Any recommendations?

With my recent issues at MO100 with severe chaffing, I'm playing it safe at arkansas traveller and I'm going to run in compression shorts. I have a bunch of tri shorts, but don't want a chamois between by legs for 100 miles.
TwoMarksHand
AG
I have no experience with running that far, more than 3 miles even. But, I have some Lulu lemon shorts with built in tights that work pretty good for me. The tights are the same length as the shorts, but will obviously look longer while running. I got a steal for 3 pair when I just happened to be there at the beginning of a sale.
AggieOO
I've had similar shorts before, but looking for a true compression short this time around.
RockOn
I usually shy away from the big brands of Nike, Adidas etc but the Under Armor running tights have been recommended to me before. I've not used them though. I'm a big fan of the Patagonia strider pro shorts
wcb
AG
I've liked my 2xU compression tri shorts. You may want to give their non-tri compression shorts a look.
Buford T. Justice
AG
I've been impressed with the pair that I purchased from Road Runner Sports. (RRS brand)
"Gimme a diablo sandwhich and a dr. pepper...to go"
wbt5845
AG
Keep us updated on what you try. I've never done longer than a marathon and standard shorts have been fine with me (lucky body build, I suppose).
Aggietaco
AG
I've got a few pair of 2xu and cwx 3/4 and full lengths for cool weather, but after running a bit they still sag low enough that the top few inches of my thighs are able to touch. I don't usually have an issue with leg chaffing, so they've never bothered me, but I did get some chaffing on another part that is unpleasant due to the compression.

You're welcome to borrow a pair if you want to try them out on a run before buying some shorts but they may get a little warm.