Health & Fitness
Sponsored by

Allergies

1,437 Views | 11 Replies | Last: 5 yr ago by 1997aggies
wcb
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Anyone else in NTexas been going crazy lately? Finally went and got a steroid pop to try and get me over the hump. Five days later still not feeling 100%.
94chem
This topic comes up all the time, so I'll put in my usual plug for immunotherapy. If you haven't looked into it, give it a shot (no pun intended).
wxguy95
AG
wcb said:

Anyone else in NTexas been going crazy lately? Finally went and got a steroid pop to try and get me over the hump. Five days later still not feeling 100%.
This is my first year to really been hit by allergies...whatever grass pollen is in the air is doing a number on me.
clarythedrill
I used to have crazy hey fever. It got to the point that I would start sneezing and not stop for about 100 sneezes and a bloody nose. Hit me really bad as a Drill Sergeant, so I went on sick call and they put me on Allegra. This was in 1999 and have been on it every since. I take it everyday whether I think I will need it or not. Changed my life. Have you tried Allegra, Claritin or any of the good allergy medicines?
wcb
AG
I take Zyrtec daily. It helps but I still get hit when air quality changes and stuff blows in.
bigtruckguy3500
Have you tried a nasal steroid like flonase or a new med that works really well for my dad called dymista? Flonase would be the next step is all you're on is an oral antihistamine. Could also try other oral antihistamines.
WestAustinAg
AG
Yes take one of the following for sneezing, itching eyes etc.:
1) Nasal steroid. Not habit forming and can now be bought OTC.
2) Clarity (weak)
3) Allegra (stronger)
4) Zyrtec (strongest) or it's newer formula (Xyzal)

Take this for seasonal asthma related symptoms:
5) Singulair (montelucast) for chest related wheezing and tightness during exercise or seasonal allergies