Health & Fitness
Sponsored by

Sleep Apnea

1,924 Views | 23 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by 94DallasAG
Cancelled
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Anyone here with it? I was diagnosed in December and about a month ago finally got my dental device.

I have struggled with moderately high BP for years - it would range from 140/90 to even a bit higher. The doctors suspected that it might be due to sleep apnea. I don't know if this is a success story and it may just be an aberration, but my BP this morning was in normal ranges. I feel a bit more refreshed and I'm not snoring nearly as much now. However, I still need to adjust the device to be a bit more aggressive.

I'm not a doctor, but I'd suggest anyone struggling with sleep apnea to consider talking to their doc about the dental device over the cpap.

Has anyone else, either on cpap or otherwise, noticed a decrease in BP after treating sleep apnea? I know that sleep apnea has a direct correlation on blood pressure.
Na Zdraví 87
AG
I was diagnosed with it years ago and finally lost some weight this year. My face and neck are much thinner now. I no longer need the cpap. Wife and I both sleep much better.
I've always had moderate to high BP. It runs in my dad's side of the family. Been on BP meds for 20+ years and always will be.
The_Thinker
Treating sleep apnea will absolutely reduce blood pressure in some people. It also has many other benefits; sleep apnea is a large cause of atrial fib later in life and proper treatment can help prevent this .

Do you mind saying how you were diagnosed?
OasisMan
AG
i used to work with a sleep doc
she was against dental devices because they can ultimately alter your oral structure

a vast majority, not all, of those with OSA would benefit from weight loss, some to the point of getting rid of their OSA
lazuras_dc
AG
Snapped a photo of this slide at a conference I attended a month ago that touched on OSA

lazuras_dc
AG