Health & Fitness
Sponsored by

New Bike Advice (I'm a complete novice to biking)

1,681 Views | 16 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by Phat32
Ag13
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I am looking at buying a bike sometime soon. It's an exercise I've been wanting to get into for a while. I live about 4 miles from work so I don't think biking to work will be a problem. I have no idea where to even start with buying a bike though.

1) Any recommendations for bikes for a newbie?
2) Any general recommendations for equipment to go along with a new bike?
3) More locally - any bike shop recommendations in Houston?

I'd like to eventually get into triathlons. Don't necessarily need a bike for races right now but one that could handle training rides would be great.
Jim01
AG
Time for the almighty bike thread to make it's return

https://texags.com/forums/48/topics/1763530
aggiespartan
AG
all this time and I didn't know the reflector was dorky.
Ag13
AG
Jim01 said:

Time for the almighty bike thread to make it's return

https://texags.com/forums/48/topics/1763530
everything I need thanks!
Winston Wolf
AG
There are more bike shops in Houston than listed on the megathread.

Blue Line
iCycle
Urban Bicycle Gallery
cjo03
AG
aggiespartan said:

Some info on that thread may be a bit outdated... but reflectors are still dorky!
Absolute
AG
cjo03 said:

aggiespartan said:

Some info on that thread may be a bit outdated... but reflectors are still dorky!

Are the led wheel lights ok?

cjo03
AG
Only if they are 1900 lumens.
94chem
Can't decide between Academy and Wal-Mart. Can anyone help? Also, I need to grow a beard fast, so when I go in Starbucks to stink it up in my Spandex, I need something to catch the yogurt drops running down my middle-aged chin.
DavidAg02
A bike is one of the best things to buy used simply because so many people think "I need to get in shape, I'll buy a bike!" Then they ride it 5 times and give up, so it sits in the garage for months until they decide to sell it.