Health & Fitness
Sponsored by

Breathing while swimming

2,555 Views | 30 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by Kool
Kool
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I am a newbie to swimming for fitness. I am going to do a triathlon in a couple of months. I have pretty good lower body strength and OK upper body strength. My problem is that I am tiring out breathing-wise well before my muscles get tired out. I have someone looking at my technique, which is admittedly poor. She assures me that the breathing will come with more training, but I have to admit that I don't want to feel like I now feel when I am in the open water. The tri is a 400 yard lake swim. Any reasonable expectations for how and when this will improve, or exercises to help this? I have read that doing non breather laps will help. Thanks in advance.
No material on this site is intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. See full Medical Disclaimer.
wcb
AG
Start by breathing every stroke on one side. So every right stroke breathe.

Start with 50 yd repeats, then 75, then 100. The following plan is 12 weeks but has the right progression.

http://www.active.com/swimming/articles/12-week-swim-workout-plan-for-sprint-triathlons

Once you start getting comfortable in the pool get outside for a few practice swims.

Eventually you'll get comfortable breathing every 3rd stroke, then 4th, etc. It will come. Just takes a little time.

Good luck!
NoahAg
This is me too. I'm amazed when I watch people slowly glide through the water, making it look so effortless.

I got ok and alternating sides, and breathing every 3 strokes, but I have to go a certain speed to stay afloat. Then I'm out of breath after one length of the pool.
Hoosegow
Don't breath when your mouth is in the water.
Class of '94
emando2000
AG
Hoosegow said:

Don't breath when your mouth is in the water.
Expert advice!
P.U.T.U
AG