Health & Fitness
Sponsored by

Braces question

1,582 Views | 12 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by loser97
Aggie_Eric98
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
The dentist told us our 7 year old needed braces, and he gave us 2 quotes, one using our insurance and one without. Not using insurance was about $1,200 cheaper, even though our insurance would cover $1,500 of it.

Is this normal? Should we get a second opinion?
ktownag08
AG
If it's cheaper without insurance go that route.

I'd also get a second opinion on the need for braces at age 7 in general before dropping that much. Obviously, I have no knowledge of your child's situation, but that's what I'd do.
Hoosegow
Oooo sounds shady as fug to me though I've been out of the orthodontist market for about 28 years. I always thought the rule was to wait until the permanent teeth are in. My uncle was one and I think all he does now is a professor. I'd text him and ask but he's a pen ez and wouldn't walk across the street to pizz on him if he was on fire, but I remember that's what he waited for on all us cousins - for the adult teeth to all come in.
agcivengineer
AG
I know they are starting kids earlier...i have 2 in braces now, buy not that early.
Wait...and get them by an orthodontist.
Aggie_Boomin 21
AG
FWIW, I know this isn't what you are asking but putting a kid in braces at that age is pointless imo, they're just going to have to need them again when they hit jr high/high school age.
Endo Ag
AG
Lots of ****ty information in this thread.

First comment is that I agree with what is posted above about speaking to an orthodontist. Don't have a gp do early intervention braces. There is way too much growth and development going on. The are lots of reasons to do braces on a seven year old, and in fact my daughter had them at that age.