Health & Fitness
Sponsored by

Race day eating/fueling(day of)

2,608 Views | 34 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by P.U.T.U
gigemJTH12
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
So my first half is on June 3rd. I am looking for advice on how to eat the day of.

I feel like my digestion is slower than others in that I can not eat ANYTHING and then immediately start running. I need some time. For example my running partner was eating a banana like right before we took off for 5 miles sunday. I could never do that in a million years.

So how should I fuel the morning of?

And how about during the race?

thanks!
P.U.T.U
AG
Here is a start

Eating is just like training, not everyone is the same and has to be worked on. I used to not handle Gatorade well but since a lot of races use it I started training with it. Took about a month but no issues
gigemJTH12
AG
what is a shot block?

is that like a gel pack?

how do yall carry this stuff while running?
wcb
AG
I ran a PR at the Cowtown half on no breakfast. I'm like you, I prefer an empty stomach. I had a decent dinner the night before (maybe fish / quinoa / asparagus, nothing crazy).

Personally I prefer gels / gu over shot blocks. The blocks are basically the same thing but in gummy bear consistency. With gels or blocks be sure to chase them with +4oz of water. I failed to chase blocks with water early on and by mile 7 I felt like I had a pack of them undissolved sitting in my gut.

I usually carry my own hydration just because I hate getting slowed down at the aid tables. I usually have EFS (similar to gatorade) in either a handheld or a fuel belt. Both have pockets that I keep my gu in. One gu every 45 minutes has become my go to nutrition plan.

Depending on where you are June could be warm. Be sure you're getting salt / electrolytes. Tracking heart rate could be helpful as well - sometimes when you push too hard it becomes difficult to get anything down. Especially in the heat.