Health & Fitness
Sponsored by

Why can't the general public get somewhere at a specified time?

4,253 Views | 47 Replies | Last: 7 yr ago by ag0207
ag0207
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I work in healthcare dealing with the general public. It seems that about half the people that step into the office show up when they want to. This not only puts me behind but angers the people that are punctual. With all the appointment reminders we send and smart phones for navigation it seems like people could figure stuff out. Old man yelling at clouds......
P.U.T.U
AG
To be devils advocate why can't anyone ever see me at the time of my appointment? Always late
ag0207
AG
you are seen late because the person ahead of you showed up late
wangus12
AG
We have the same issues a lot. We do executive physicals with testing that can take most of the day. Therefore, we only have 2-5 patients per doctor depending on possible overbooks. Patients usually arrive 7-830 based on their appointment time. They do lab, healthscreens, dermatology, nutrition, physical, cardiology/stress testing, radiology, fitness consults and debriefing with the doc. Some also see G.I. with 30+ patients coming in, this is an all-day affair and when patients show up late, it can throw a wrench into the entire logistical machine that they front desks folks have to get everyone everywhere.

Usually because someone before you was late.

http://www.businessinsider.com/why-your-doctor-is-always-late-2015-1

http://raphafamilywellness.com/blog/2013/9/18/why-in-thedoes-a-doctor-schedule-an-appointment-for-240-and-keep-my-ass-in-the-waiting-room-for-at-least-30-minutes
hurricanejake02
AG
Yeah, it only takes a couple visits to see a doc where I'm not seen until an hour after my appointment - and then they rush me out the door - for me to stop showing up early...
Beckdiesel03
AG