Gas vs Diesel Truck?

5,921 Views | 39 Replies | Last: 4 yr ago by 1939
aggieforester05
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
03ki11erAG said:

Sully said:

I currently drive a gas 2015 Ford F-150 and pull a 9K# travel trailer and I'm going to be getting out of the 1/2 ton and buying a 3/4 ton in the coming months.

We pull the trailer 6-10 times per year, mainly to Florida, the Texas coast and around the Hill Country and Big Bend for camping trips. The new truck would also be my daily driver and I plan to keep it for as long as I can.

My question is, is there really any reason why I should go with a diesel over a gas engine? I have no experience with diesel and don't know if it's worth it for the type of towing I do.

Thanks!

How was towing that with a half ton? I'm about to buy a travel trailer myself and tow it with a half ton. Did you have the 3.5 ecoboost?
That's a lot of travel trailer for a half ton. While well under the weight limit for a max tow ecoboost, travel trailers are a lot harder on your vehicle than an equipment trailer for example. The wind load is substantial and it would be hunting for gears on the highway and crosswinds would push your rear all over the place. I'd imagine that's why he's looking to upgrade.
Sully
AG
aggieforester05 said:

03ki11erAG said:

Sully said:

I currently drive a gas 2015 Ford F-150 and pull a 9K# travel trailer and I'm going to be getting out of the 1/2 ton and buying a 3/4 ton in the coming months.

We pull the trailer 6-10 times per year, mainly to Florida, the Texas coast and around the Hill Country and Big Bend for camping trips. The new truck would also be my daily driver and I plan to keep it for as long as I can.

My question is, is there really any reason why I should go with a diesel over a gas engine? I have no experience with diesel and don't know if it's worth it for the type of towing I do.

Thanks!