Gas vs Diesel Truck?

5,849 Views | 39 Replies | Last: 4 yr ago by 1939
Sully
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I currently drive a gas 2015 Ford F-150 and pull a 9K# travel trailer and I'm going to be getting out of the 1/2 ton and buying a 3/4 ton in the coming months.

We pull the trailer 6-10 times per year, mainly to Florida, the Texas coast and around the Hill Country and Big Bend for camping trips. The new truck would also be my daily driver and I plan to keep it for as long as I can.

My question is, is there really any reason why I should go with a diesel over a gas engine? I have no experience with diesel and don't know if it's worth it for the type of towing I do.

Thanks!
Complete Idiot
Having pulled a travel trailer with a gas truck the biggest reason I'd want to go to a diesel is so I could have access to straight pull through gas pumps designed for 18 wheelers. Got tired of trying to shoehorn my way into pumps designed for single cars.

If you got away with a 1/2 ton gasser then a more powerful 3/4 ton gas engine, with upgraded payload, braking ability, etc, will feel like a nice upgrade. You certainly don't *need* diesel, but that doesn't mean you shouldn't buy it. You want to barely feel the trailer back there? Go diesel.
TSUAggie
I would go with gas. The extra costs for a diesel aren't worth it unless you're towing heavy loads on a regular basis.
aggolfer
AG
Diesel
Sully
AG
What extra costs are you referring to and how much?
saltydog13
AG
The upfront cost of the Diesel engine, more expensive fuel, def fluid, fuel filters, 13-15 qt oil changes
will.mcg
AG
Usually more oil, regular fuel filter changes, higher fuel cost, heavier vehicle will wear parts quicker....I don't tow a heavy trailer every week but the few times a month I do I'm glad I have a diesel. I used to tow similar sized trailers with a 350 gas engine & it was a freaking dog compared to any diesel I've hooked onto.
AgNColorado
Find a lower miles 06 or 07 duramax or Cummins.