How to prevent trailer sway (ATV/UTV Trailer)

5,244 Views | 23 Replies | Last: 4 yr ago by lkx398
Aggie118
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Howdy! I am a somewhat inexperienced trailer driver (just have pulled smaller utility trailers in the country). This past summer went on an awesome trip to Arkansas to enjoy the Ozarks. I rented a 14 foot Hydraulic tandem axel trailer from United Rentals to take my Polaris ranger and ATV there (I was barely able to fit them both but made it work), note I am using a 2010 Ford F-150 2WD.

On the way there I was white knuckling the entire time because the trailer was swaying ridiculously bad anytime I I went over 50 miles per hour. I mean I was sure it was going to flip off at some points. Needles to say the drive from DFW to Ozark, Arkansas took about twice as long.

I think we loaded the vehicles incorrectly weight distribution wise so we were sure to maximize weight on the front of the trailer (in front of the axel/tires) to ensure this wouldn't happen again. It was slightly better but still swayed a ton and made for a very slow and sketchy ride back.

Long story short I am going back in December and wanted to see if the automotive board had any insight as to why I was having this issue, and how to mitigate it going forward. Thanks ags!
TxSquarebody
Like you mentioned, load distribution plays a big role. Also, get a longer trailer. The increased distance to the axle of a 16' will make a tremendous difference.
Complete Idiot
Did you mention it to the rental company on return? COuld be trailer issues, or they could have provided tips perhaps.

You don't want negative tongue weight, but sounds like you knew to load some weight to the front. I think at least 10% of total trailer weight should be the tongue weight. But there are quite a few things that could cause this I believe, maybe someone will respond with one specific to certain speeds or higher.
coolerguy12
AG