Game day car detailing?

2,231 Views | 17 Replies | Last: 4 yr ago by DeadCiv
Brennan22
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Hello AB, I am a current student looking for some extra money. I am entertaining the idea of detailing cars as it is something I think I could handle while also making far more money than I would working for someone else (at least per hour).

I was thinking about starting out by doing cars on game days. When people come into town for a game, they could have their car detailed while they are at the game. I feel like I could have an edge on local shops by offering a ride to and from the game. The downside is this would probably limit me to one car per game, but I can live with that.

My question to you is, do you feel like there is any demand for this type of service? And do you think it would be worth competing against established shops?
RingOfive
AG
I don't understand the idea. How exactly does the customer get to the game? And how will you pick them up? The logistics don't make much sense to me, but maybe I'm just misunderstanding.

Edit: Ok, I think I see what you're saying now. They drop off their car at your place, you drive them to the game, then you pick them up after the game and go back to your place where they pick up their car. Is that correct?
Brennan22
Yeah thats the idea, I should have been more clear about that. I'm just not sure if it would be a viable business. Any insight from someone who has been down a similar road would be much appreciated!
Picard
AG
So....you're only working 6 days a year?

DeWrecking Crew
I don't see it working, at least on game days anyway, just too much going on, plus you'd spend half of your time in traffic
Brennan22
I would be doing it year around, just thought that doing game days could be an interesting idea.. guess I'm a little late for this season but there's always next year
JamesPShelley