West Texas
Sponsored by

thoughts on moving to Big Bend area? - Alpine, Marfa, Marathon, Ft Davis...

23,672 Views | 50 Replies | Last: 4 yr ago by danw95
danw95
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Yep! Been here since October, family is settled in pretty well. Love it here.
Steve Keathley 89
AG
Dan

What did you end up doing and where are you now?

Complaint Investigator
AG
If you need a dentist, head to Valentine Iris is an awesome person. She just sold her 8K acre ranch out there to downsize, but is staying in practice in Valentine.

I used to ride a cutting horse she bred, and she was at dinner at a mutual friends house about two weeks ago.

Iris Korus, DDS
danw95
AG
Steve - we're in Alpine, I talked my boss into letting me work remotely so I have an office in my home, Baja Internet has 100mb speeds so it's been a smooth transition. I'm an IT business analyst with clients all get the country so being face to face isn't an issue.
danw95
AG
I have to say for us, the remoteness has only been a factor when we go visit family and its a ten hour drive. High speed internet, directv, and Amazon fill a lot of gaps. We try and buy as much local as possible but we're frugal too so sometimes it makes more sense to stock up on the way back from Houston or San Antonio. Housing and groceries are more expensive, car and home insurance cheaper. Electricity is much cheaper. Working at home we spend very little on car expenses and gas, so the long drives to Houston or austin aren't a big deal expense-wise. There aren't many restaurant choices so we cook home a lot. So cost of living I'd say is almost equal to what we left in Houston.
Mucho austin
AG
You could always just eat at the Reata each meal.

Carne asada w/ the cheese enchilada. I would be fine with that for each meal.
chickenfingers
AG
Dan - Can you email me at dwil90 at yahoo sometime? I would really like to ask you a couple of questions.
danw95
AG
sure, email sent
Steve Keathley 89
AG