Houston
Sponsored by

Lamar HS Student Shot Outside of School

7,346 Views | 53 Replies | Last: 5 yr ago by Ragoo
Good Poster
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG

Third gun related death involving Lamar HS students this week.
Furlock Bones
AG
Damn.
Waltonloads08
AG
HPD suspects gang related killing.

The murder-suicide last week was two "best friends" (lovers?)
Bigballin
AG
The hood is encroaching on river oaks
Liquid Wrench
That's been the case at Lamar for a long time.
george07
AG
Yeah this isn't anything new. I graduated from Lamar in 2003 and it definitely has nothing in common with the neighborhood around it. Wouldn't trade my time there for the world though, I enjoyed my 4 years there thoroughly.
88jrt06
AG
ChiliBeans said:

That's been the case at Lamar for a long time.

Well, yeah, since about 1972.
Your Friend
What ****ty area is zoned to Lamar?
ccolley68
AG
Your Friend said:

I don't know where they draw their students from, but I drove by yesterday as they were letting out for the day and it didn't look like their were a whole lot of River Oaks residents who were students there, unless it's from the servants and groundskeepers kids of those River Oaks manors.
JSKolache
AG
Is it still a magnet program location? Used to have kids from all over various ghettos.
Liquid Wrench
Attendance rules are different than when most of us old people were in high school. There are a variety of ways kids attend outside of their zones today. More than half of Lamar's enrollment is from outside its zone.

Have fun with this if you ever get really bored/curious: https://www.houstonisd.org/Page/110554
MAROON
AG
HISD really has ruined multiple neighborhood schools with their ridiculous magnet program (yes I know it was created to appease a federal judge).

Lamar is the high school in HISD, along with Bellaire. Everyone is trying to get in those schools. So what has happened is that its killed the other HISD high schools (Yates, Jones, Worthing, Madison, etc. etc.).