Houston
Sponsored by

Green Trails vs Nottingham (77079)

8,357 Views | 40 Replies | Last: 5 yr ago by stroodles
Hou16
How long do you want to ignore this user?
We've been looking at homes in Green Trails (primarily the Estates section) as well as Nottingham and Nottingham Forrest. Interested in opinions on both areas. Is Green Trails (Pattinson, McMeans, Taylor HS) a good investment with so many families heading far west? On Nottingham, we're probably more likely to buy in Nottingham Forrest - any thoughts on Nottingham-Spring Forrest-Stratford? Budget is $600K and wanting a home that did not flood. TIA!
Cinco Ranch Aggie
AG
Howdy. I've been a Katy resident since 1999 (not a realtor). I have friends who have lived in two different homes in Nottingham. Great neighborhood with older homes. I'm not as familiar with Green Trails. I would caution you to ask about flooding at specific addresses. My friend's home is behind Kingsland Baptist Church, they did not flood but are slightly uphill and many properties nearby did.

The Fry/Kingsland intersection is, to me, too close to the reservoir. Fry Rd became Fry River just a few blocks south of that intersection (closer to Highland Knolls and was fully inundated at Westheimer Parkway).

Edit to add - McMeans is where we were putting boats into the water along Westheimer Parkway so that we could get into the neighborhoods along Fry Rd.
Gig-Em2003
AG
Stretch to get into Nottingham, east of Kirkwood if possible. You will not regret it. Fantastic schools (Wilchester, MMS, Stratford), an incredible neighborhood community, and MUCH closer to Houston. Moved to the area five years ago and haven't regretted a second. We considered Green Trails too and had the same budget.
Gig-Em2003
AG
Nottingham Forest is a great neighborhood too but the middle school is a concern. There is a reason it's so much cheaper than east of Kirkwood.
agchugger
AG