Houston
Sponsored by

HCAD Values

116,675 Views | 772 Replies | Last: 2 yr ago by speck3
Cru
How long do you want to ignore this user?
S
quote:
I admit I'm a noob. I thought no comps would be needed if you just bought your house. That is as close to an equal comp as you can get considering it's the same exact house.

That's true, but only useful if the purchase price is less than the hcad values. If it isn't and you want to fight, u&e would be needed, or other note creative arguments.
heisatouchdown
AG
Went in with Jubally, got the overall market value lowered but still higher than my 10% cap... curse you HCAD...
BassAg
AG
Chalk one up for the little guy. Value lowered by 40K this morning.
Mikeyshooter
AG
Formal hearing was really simple. Presented my HUD doc with sales price, presented invoice for work done prior to moving in, and requested a fair market value based on a partial remodel which was still 50k below appraised value. They all agreed and it was done.
BMF_AG95
AG
Just got done with formal hearing and got screwed. We bought in dec 2013. The noticed value was 54% higher than last years and was just above sales price. They lowered to confirmens sales price after presenting U&E which showed value that was 35% lower than their value. I'm dealing pissed. We used jubally and they provided great information. Even though it did not work for us I have the highest things to say about jubally. GREAT Company! I will use them again.

The board we had sucked! They broke the law today because our value is higher than our neighbors. We are looking at next steps. Has anyone ever done the arbitration? Do we need to hire an attorney?
rononeill
i expected too much from the 1st round monkey. my logic:
- last year's value is the baseline; ie, my value was apples to apples with my neighborhood
- i have made zero updates to my home since last year's agreed upon value
- citing THEIR comps, the average increase of total property value was 5% across them; mine was 14%.