Metroplex
Sponsored by

Time To Lay Sod

2,894 Views | 22 Replies | Last: 7 yr ago by Ag CPA
turfaggie24
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
If anyone in the area is looking to revamp their yard and needs sod laid feel free to pm me or email me at t h e s o d f a t h e r s t x @ y a h o o . c o m With record high temps for February this is the best time to lay sod and not be on a wait list for grass. My team and I have a 4 year degree in Turf and over 25 years of private golf course maintenance.
aggielostinETX
AG
You're right... just did two pallets yesterday with the help of two teenagers.
Yesterday
AG
When's the best time to weed and feed st Augustine? I'm getting lots of weeds popping up due to the warm weather but I usually don't fertilize until late March.
turfaggie24
AG
I would defer to the label of whatever product you're using. We are for sure entering early spring.
catfan
How much?
riverrataggie
AG
Just jinxed a march freeze.
turfaggie24
AG
It typically freezes in early spring, still ok to lay sod.
turfaggie24
AG
What do you need done and where?
wbt5845
AG
You should not use weed and feed on St Augustine. Your preemergent should go out the next week to 10 days. Fertilizer isn't needed until April.

Preemergent will only stop grassy weeds from germinating. Use a broadleaf weeds killer for other weeds.
Yesterday
AG
wbt5845 said:

You should not use weed and feed on St Augustine. Your preemergent should go out the next week to 10 days. Fertilizer isn't needed until April.

Preemergent will only stop grassy weeds from germinating. Use a broadleaf weeds killer for other weeds.

Thanks!
L8HIT
AG
Sent you an email, Turf.

Thanks.
The Collective
AG
tur***gie24 said:

It typically freezes in early spring, still ok to lay sod.

No doubt. I put sod down at my place 7-8 years ago on a Thursday/Friday during the spring break timeframe... and then it promptly froze & snowed on Saturday. I thought that I was hosed. Lawn survived and is still thriving to this day.