Austin
Sponsored by

Westlake Football Playoffs

2,019 Views | 19 Replies | Last: 5 yr ago by ATXAdvisor
rwtxag83
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Talk to me about this team. My kids are at SA Brandeis. As a fan, I am kind of looking past Brownsville Hanna (I know the coaches and team are not), and assuming Brandeis and Westlake are headed for a 4th round Regional Championship matchup (assuming Westlake gets by Edinburg Vela).

What kind of offense do they run. Qb, RBs and receivers?

Defense? what are their strengths?

Trying to get a 'what to look for' heads up before the game.

Thanks from Helotes Texas!
BeowulfShaeffer
AG
I'll give it a shot! I'm no expert, but I am a Westlake season ticket holder--have one graduate and 2 current juniors there, and one of my twins is in the band. So, yes, I'm a band parent, but I don't leave after halftime...

First, like you, I'm not looking past Edinburgh Vela. However, say that perhaps Westlake advances past them, then I'm expecting a matchup with Brandeis for the Region IV final. Lucky you, you get a virtual home game with your valley opponent, and somehow Westlake has to travel down to Corpus Christi for our game...

Westlake is a typical spread offense team. They typically line up in 1 back sets (probably 60% of the time), sometimes in 2 back, and occasionally empty. Regardless, Westlake runs the ball a lot for a "spread" team--you can almost guarantee that it's a run play when in 2 back. Overall, Westlake is very balanced offensively--217 yards/game rushing, 218 yards/game receiving.