DD's closed due to internet outage?

3,990 Views | 30 Replies | Last: 2 yr ago by LOYAL AG
Smeghead4761
How long do you want to ignore this user?
I tried to get pizza from the Double Dave's on Boonville last night. They had a sign in the window saying they were closed due to an internet outage.

Is there something stopping them from running cash only and taking delivery/take out orders by phone? Or is the need for internet access so deeply built into the system that they can't run without it?

I worked as a pizza delivery driver when I was an undergrad, for a local chain in another state, 25-30 years ago (mid 90s). The system for getting orders from the order taker to the line was computerized, but no internet was involved. Most of the orders were paid for with cash, sometimes checks.
textar4404
We won't get anything from Double Dave's until they open the buffet again.
jopatura
AG
Can't take credit cards with no internet. It may have been more cost effective to close for the night (i.e not pay employees, not waste food) then it was to rely on cash only.
Smeghead4761
I remember being in a business some years ago, phones were down and the boss had told the cashier to run credit cards the old fashioned way.

Kid was super grateful when I showed him how to use the old school carbon copy credit card receipt machine.
Goose83
AG
Anyone know if (or when) DD's is ever going to serve their buffet again.
LOYAL AG
AG
Langenator said:

I remember being in a business some years ago, phones were down and the boss had told the cashier to run credit cards the old fashioned way.

Kid was super grateful when I showed him how to use the old school carbon copy credit card receipt machine.

I'd guess this is illegal now since it creates a literal paper trail with the card number, name expiration and cvv on it.

It could be that DD POS requires a live internet to function. If so shame on DD for not have a cellular card as a backup plan. No reason this should happen in 2022.
Rearview
AG