Impact Fees?

2,913 Views | 24 Replies | Last: 2 yr ago by happyinBCS
MsDoubleD81
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Since I am relatively new to CS, anyone have input on this? Ad popped up when I googled "Aggie Band 4 Way Cross Formation"! On city council agenda for tomorrow, November 22.

https://citizensforcollegestation.com/

COLLEGE STATION CITY HALL IS MAKING A BIG MESS.
It's about to get much bigger and more expensive for the citizens of College Station. The problem is that City Hall is double-dipping their citizens, and the Impact Fees are the mechanism they're using to inflate their budgets.
happyinBCS
I just emailed each of the council members and asked PLEASE VOTE NO ON IMPACT FEES TOMORROW
UmustBKidding
And one of them likely will, cunha. Not a chance any of The others will. A good reason to vote in the runoff dec 14 early voting starts nov29
happyinBCS
I have received a response from Cunha and Brick I will be voting in the runoff but it will probably be a low turnout
BCSWguru
Stop voting for these morons, lol
dallasiteinsa02

I have seen presentations from both sides. It is pretty clear that the impact of new homes city wide is offset by the increased taxes. I have asked over and over again.for the math to demonstrate the need. You can't show that the water treatment plant needs $20 million in repairs in 3 years and blame that all on new builds. Give me the data that shows that the new homes are causing an expansion, less the incremental new tax revenue, and I can understand it.

Impact fees are simply an attempt to prop up existing homes values against new construction.
doubledog
If the developer has not allowed the impact fee in their initial cost/benefit analysis, then I can see a real issue. Proceeding from this point forward, then the impact fee should be applied to manage things like traffic congestion, that their development will have on the local and regional road ways.

Flatlander