Anecdotal BCS Covid thread - keep numbers in other thread

4,951 Views | 46 Replies | Last: 3 yr ago by Belton Ag
Belton Ag
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
1.618 said:

I've been fighting cancer for 15 years, so I have worn a mask for the better part of 15 years when I leave the house. People always assumed that I was sick and contagious when they saw the mask but if I left the house, I was well and wanted to stay that way.

For me, the mask gave me the freedom to go out in society in relative safety while immunocompromised so I never hated it. On the contrary, it gave me freedom to leave the bubble that is my home. Sure, small children would point or make comments but that was ok as it was unusual at the time. Today, I don't go out much but I sure as heck wear my mask when I do. And no one gives me a second thought these days when they see my mask, which is funny.

So yea, even when covid19 is under control, I'll still be wearing a mask. There will likely be some adult idiot who makes a comment about my mask (kids prob won't say a thing anymore) but I won't care. I have worked long and hard to stay on the planet and I intend to do it for a good bit longer.

Stay well my friend. If anyone makes fun of your mask when I'm around I'll knock them on their ass for you.
FlyRod
Ditto.
b0ridi
Belton Ag said:

I just doubt I can ever get used to a mask. I mean, I guess I'd get used to having a railroad spike sticking out of my skull if I had to. But I've gone 46 years without masks, and the past few months of being exposed to trying to conduct business, carry on conversations, and work with one on makes my quality of life suffer to the point where I resent them.

If I get sick - where I'm contagious and can negatively affect others - I stay home, as should everyone. To me that's even more polite than wearing a mask.

Wearing a mask in crowded public areas is causing you suffering and resentment? Hope you make it through.
Belton Ag
AG
b0ridi said: