Outdoors
Sponsored by

Norman Borlaug (worked outdoors)

2,702 Views | 28 Replies | Last: 1 yr ago by tmaggies
MasonB
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Alex did his project on Norman Borlaug...learned a lot about a great man and got the chance to "whoop!"

O.G.
There is a statue of him in the US Capital Rotunda, a gift from the State of Iowa.

909Ag2006
AG
I am not sure, but I have a vague recollection of him speaking to one of my classes at A&M. This would've been in about 2004. But, I was too stupid to even appreciate who was speaking to us.
"They weren't raiding a Girl Scout troop looking for overdue library books."
WaldoWings
He was walking to the ceremony when I graduated. I saw him and ran up to him and shook his hand. I figured I would never get the opportunity to shake a Nobel prize winner's hand again. Great man!
rather be fishing
AG
909Ag2006 said:

I am not sure, but I have a vague recollection of him speaking to one of my classes at A&M. This would've been in about 2004. But, I was too stupid to even appreciate who was speaking to us.

Probably. He was on staff back then.
WestTexAG
AG
I'm proud to say he gave he gave the commencement address at my graduation. Dude helped so many people all over the planet!
TX AG 88
tmaggies
AG
O.G. said:

There is a statue of him in the US Capital Rotunda, a gift from the State of Iowa.

And wearing an Aggie ring!

Aggieangler93
AG
Thanks Alex for teaching me!
Class of '93 - proud Dad of a '22 grad and a '26 student!
highlonesomeaggie
AG
My oldest son was accepted to the Norman Borlaug 4-H program. At their first weekend conference, he said he got to hold the Nobel Prize. Said that was really cool.
Jbob04
AG
909Ag2006 said:

Same here. I think around 2003 for me in an AGEC class.
DargelSkout
AG
Same, he spoke in one of my soil science classes. What a great person. He's probably responsible for saving millions of lives with his work.
SunrayAg
AG