Outdoors
Sponsored by

Well, the hog trap worked

6,230 Views | 18 Replies | Last: 3 yr ago by birdman
MemphisAg1
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I'm a novice at this, but followed instructions for how to build a figure C hog trap to thin out the rascals that are tearing up my land.

Nine pigs in the trap this morning

They hear me coming up the trail

Six sows and three males

Figure C trap design, works as advertised

This was pretty simple to install. About $250 for the cattle panels, t-posts, and other supplies. Roughly four hours of work for two men.
txaggie02
AG
Love the c trap concept. Great way to catch a whole sounder. That's the only way you are going to put a dent in them.
OneMoonGoon92
AG
How many panels did you end up using?
AquaCasaAg
AG
Use a front end loader to push in the t posts and it won't take as long.
MemphisAg1
AG
I think it was five panels. 20 foot diameter trap. Overlapped the panels about three feet for more strength. Panels on the inside of the posts, except for the hinge post. Really glad we built it strong because those hogs were running full speed into it trying to get out. Held up well.
highvelocity
AG
So is the trick, that last panel panel is loose so they can shimy passed and then it kicks back and locks them in?
MemphisAg1
AG
highvelocity said:

So is the trick, that last panel panel is loose so they can shimy passed and then it kicks back and locks them in?
Yes, that's how some folks do it.

When I set the trap, I pulled that last panel against that last post and tied a weak string from the panel across the trap diameter to another panel. In that model, the "door is open." Put a pile of corn on the ground past the string; the hogs break the string easily and the last panel slams shut because it's under tension.

Here's a pic of what that looks like (although here I've wired the last panel to the last post to purposely not catch anything; will be awhile before I need to set it and check again).

cap-n-jack