Outdoors
Sponsored by

Well Our Tank Took a Hit Last Week

8,467 Views | 57 Replies | Last: 3 yr ago by wareagle044
normaleagle05
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I count 6 dead catfish. But I'm not good at the "How Many?" game.
docb
AG
jpb1999 said:

docb said:

I have two aerators on my pond to help with this issue
What kid of aerator do you use?
I have a large solar aerator that has a couple of solar panels to power the pump and two oxygen diffusers in the pond. It is rated for a 2 acre pond. The manufacturer escapes me but there are several companies that manufacture this type of equipment. It essentially keeps the water in the pond circulating. Pond Boss has a forum that will get you lots of answers on aeration and a lot of other pond issues. I'm sure the issue in the OP could have been avoided with a little more thought and research before killing the algae.
rab79
AG
jpb1999 said:

rab79 said:

ok, your pond has to be deep enough to stratify, i. e. cool water on the bottom warm water on the top with a boundary layer. The two levels don't mix so the bottom layer becomes anoxic, which dead algae on the bottom would facilitate.
When the top layer cools it breaks up the stratification and the two layers mix with the anoxic layer reducing the oxygen concentration to potentially lethal levels. The centrarchids are more susceptible to low oxygen levels than catfish so you can get differential mortality, depending on the level dissolved oxygen drops to.
So your saying a deep pond is good or bad?

How do you stop the layers from mixing?