Outdoors
Sponsored by

Wild edible plants of Texas

10,127 Views | 75 Replies | Last: 3 yr ago by jayelbee
AggieAces06
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Badace52 said:

FAT SEXY said:

Need to find me a solid dewberry patch this season.

I have a solid patch in my backyard. It was there when we moved in, but I have been cultivating it for two years and now it is pretty big.

How do you cultivate them? We have about 4 acres behind our house that has tons of patches. We'd love to be able to keep them going.

We bought the place 3 years ago and had a great first year of picking. Last year the rain kept us away and the weeds were tall and in the way when we could get out. So far this year we are seeing lots of blooms and the berries are starting to come out. But the weeds are tall again, and the patches don't look as big as they did a couple years ago.
texan12
Can't wild onions be mistaken for crow's feet? Both have a bulb but one is odorless and poisonous. On another note, has anyone ever tried buffalo gourd that grows on a vine?
Post removed:
by user
techno-ag
AG
We've got tons of yaupon. The Indians used to dry the leaves and make a tea. Supposedly it's the only caffeinated plant in this part of the Americas.

I've never had the urge to try it. The virus isn't that bad yet, and HEB is still open.
BurnetAggie99
A lot of good stuff already mentioned. I tell you that Mesquite Bean Jelly is nails. Can also be make into jelly.

Also the Italian's been eating dandelions leaves forever.
Fishin Texas Aggie 05
AG
There's a mushroom called the death cap

They are so nutritious that if you eat a half dozen they will feed you for the rest of your life
normaleagle05
AG
FAT SEXY said:

Apache said:

Mesquite bean pods
In this book I have it says when the pod is green it is semi-sweet.. thought that was interesting. It talks about when they are ripe and dry they can be ground into a good flour. Wonder how mesquite flour chocolate chip cookies would turn out.