Outdoors
Sponsored by

Sig M400 upgrades?

9,150 Views | 31 Replies | Last: 4 yr ago by FIDO 96
cupofjoe04
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I may have been given a Sig M400- which promptly fell into a lake. I've never had an AR- style rifle before, so I'm new to that world. School me (or give me a link to some good info) on what I need.

It has an upgraded grip which I like and think is comfortable. Also has some sort of recoil reducing stock (but it looks pretty typical to me). The hand guard is really rough on the hands- would like to change that. It has pop-up irons, but I wouldn't mind adding an affordable red dot.

What upgrades or furniture would you guys recommend? I would like to end up with a good defense gun that is fun to shoot.
CT'97
AG

Is this the rifle?

If so then I would say an optic of some sort depending on what you are going to do with it. A solid red dot would be a good option. If you are going to shoot at anything at range then a low powered scope of some sort, there are several 1-6 power options at a nice price point.

Next would be a trigger. There are several easy drop in's that would a good upgrade.

Beyond that spend money on ammo and go shoot it.
cupofjoe04
AG
Thanks!

It is the older version M400, not the new Tread.
It has a hand guard made by Troy. Only thing I don't like is it feels like it will dig into my hand. Any solutions for that other than a new guard?
*edit to add, it is a Troy Alpha Rail

FIDO 96
AG
I have that same rail

You need Troy Squid Covere

https://troyind.com/products/squid-grip-7-pack-fde
AggieMPH2005
Sling and weapon light, I like the magpul sling and inforce wml but there are many good ones to choose from. Also a drop in trigger if you feel like upgrading ( this is my favorite AR mod) and then a red dot. You didn't define your budget but Primary Arms and Voetex are good places to start. Aimpoint Pro is always a good choice regardless of budget.
BCStalk