Outdoors
Sponsored by

281 North - SA to DFW

2,266 Views | 19 Replies | Last: 5 yr ago by TxSquarebody
poet0715
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Fisrt off, prayers being sent to all of the families that have been affected by the recent flooding. Hope everyone is staying safe

Our family is making the trip up to DFW for the weekend for a wedding. We were planning on taking 281 North from San Antonio instead of taking I-35.

With all of the flooding that has taken place and more rain in the forecast, is there any cause for concern with taking 281 North to Hico, then cutting over on 67?

Appreciate any input.
Ragoo
AG
Unless it is a bright sunny cool day I would never take 281 over 35.
Come Out Roll
AG
Ragoo said:

Unless it is a bright sunny cool day.....
..and you if you have an extra hour to kill just driving.....
Gunny456
AG
I travel for a living in Texas and live in central Texas. I took that exact route Monday and all was good. When going from S.A. to Ft. Worth I never travel IH-35 anymore. You can never make that trip on IH-35 without traffic delays. Two months ago it took me 1.5 hours to go from Killeen to Waco on IH 35. I avoid IH-35 whenever I have to be somewhere on time. And I make that trip every two weeks or sometimes once a week.
The new Chisom Trail loop at Cleburne makes 281 to 67 to Chisolm Trail a breeze. And not a lot of traffic typically on 281.
Ragoo
AG
Come Out Roll said:

Ragoo said:

Unless it is a bright sunny cool day.....
..and you if you have an extra hour to kill just driving.....
that is what i mean. It is a more scenic drive, so it better be a pretty day to endure the longer trip.
ABATTBQ87
AG
I stay away from I35 at all costs! of course, I live in Marble Falls and 281 to Hico to Glen Rose to Cleburne is an easy drive
AggieRob93
AG
Live in SA, grew up in Allen and folks are still there.