Outdoors
Sponsored by

Electric smoker almost caught my house on fire

9,325 Views | 27 Replies | Last: 5 yr ago by 80sGeorge
zip04
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Thread title is a little dramatic, but it was still a fire hazard.

I have a masterbuilt electric smoker that my dad gave me about 5 years ago. Well, I smoked a brisket and some chicken for 4th of July and it held temp great for the brisket, but start fluctuating like crazy with the chicken. I made due by checking it every 30 minutes until the food was done. When I went to unplug it, the cord was extremely hot and had melted/fused to the extension cord. Needless to say, I am using that as an excuse to upgrade my smoker.

I have a few questions for the board. I have searched these forums but they seem to talk in circles between what is better for one person versus another, etc. Everyone has what they like/want, and it isn't always what is best for someone else. I get that, but I have narrowed down my search to either a Green Mountain Grills Jim Bowie or a decent off set for $800-1000.

What I will use it for:
1. Smoking brisket
2. Smoking chicken/turkey

I have read that the pellet grills do a great job but don't necessarily give a decent bark or smoke ring. That is one thing I am wanting to achieve. I did not like my vertical smoker too much for brisket. It tasted like it was cooked in the oven and could not obtain bark or a smoke ring. Can anyone with a pellet smoker speak to this? I have read that they produce a great flavor.

Any recommendations for off set smokers in that price range? How difficult are they to maintain 225 degrees over night? I don't mind staying up with it (I actually enjoy it), but don't want to have to fight with it every 45 minutes to an hour because the temp is fluctuating.

Edit to say that weight of the smoker does matter. I am in the Navy and have moved 9 times in 13 years. I need something that doesn't weigh 700 pounds, but will hold up decently.
SoulSlaveAG2005