Outdoors
Sponsored by

Looking for a tent

2,861 Views | 35 Replies | Last: 5 yr ago by chaca5151
chaca5151
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Holy crap! I have no clue where to start, we are a family of 3 looking to go camping here in the next month. We are not new to camping but I am new to buying a tent.

Any recommendations on what to get? We want something that will last, and is big enough to get out of the sun if we need to.
Not everyone gets the same version of me. One person might tell you I have an amazing beautiful soul. Another might tell you I’m a cold-hearted a$$^ole. Believe them both. I don’t treat people badly. I treat them accordingly - unknown
AgEng06
AG
What's your budget and potential types of weather usage?
BlueSmoke
https://www.sierratradingpost.com/tents~d~228/
Nobody cares. Work Harder
bam02
AG
If you are likely tiny car camp occasionally I recommend one of the "EZ-Up" style that have the frame built in.
BrazosDog02
AG
Website posted has some very decent tents, excellent tents for the money.

Anyway, don't cheap out here....it can make or break a camping trip. I camped for 6 weeks out west and there is a really warm and fuzzy feeling watching your neighbors tent blow away from a desert wind storm and watching yours hold fast with solid rigging and high quality materials.
FIDO 96
AG
For an annual camping trip at my parents place, i needed to replace my old tent. Got a 12-person instantl up from Core Equipment. Google search for the best price or see if Costco still has them.

Plenty of room for the 4 of us with air mattresses and and inflatable sofa!
reddog90
AG
Look at Outdoor Gear Lab reviews.
LSB_2002
AG
I got an email from Academy yesterday (maybe Sunday), that they had their tents on sale, 30% off.

You might want to check them out.
HTownAg98