Outdoors
Sponsored by

First Time Garden Problems

2,420 Views | 18 Replies | Last: 5 yr ago by Stormchaser
dsvogel05
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
This is my first time planting a garden and I'm having a few problems with some plants. I built planter boxes made of cedar and measure 2'x4'x10". I used 100lbs of composted manure and 3 cubic feet of potting soil, and after settling, the soil depth is about 8". I bought all my plants from Home Depot about a month ago, so everything is rooted well and the soil drains good. I fertilized once with a 14-14-14 fertilizer and use a 3 in 1 organic fungicide, insecticide, miticide once a week. I don't care if I use organic or not, its just what I saw at Target one day.

First problem is my cilantro. I'm not sure what's causing the reddish brown leaves and stems. I can prune back the stems, and they keep coming back the same red/brown color.

Second problem are my green bell peppers. Is it typical to only have on pepper per plant? I'm getting flowers, but they just die and fall off.

Third problem is my sweet basil. I think part of my problem was overhead watering, so i try not to get water on my leaves, but I'm still getting some discolored leaves that turn brown/black. I pinch those leaves off, and get good new growth, but still end up with some of the discolored leaves.

My last problem is with my zucchini and yellow squash. I get a lot of blooms, but nothing comes of them. I read I could have a problem with pollination because of the lack and male and female flowers, or just the lack of cross-pollination. But the other concern is the burnt edges and yellow leaves.

Cliff notes, having problems with my first garden and not sure what to and fix it. TIA
zooguy96
Too many nutrients?
dsvogel05
AG
I thought it could be that, but I'm not sure because my pepper plants, jalapeno, serrano, and bells all look great as does my parsley and thyme.
zooguy96