Outdoors
Sponsored by

Arming Teachers

2,476 Views | 30 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by Blanco Jimenez
I Like Mike
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Need some ideas OB. I am a teacher in Bastrop and I want to approach some school board members outside of scheduled meetings to discuss the possibility of allowing CHL holders to carry in BISD. I am putting together a plan of action that includes training, costs, etc. Part of this action plan will be suggested equipment. I think teachers who carry should have some form of solid safety retention in a holster to prevent any shenanigans by students (gun being taken in a fight, or whatever). What recommendations can y'all give for IWB holsters that have superior retention capabilities?

Thanks for your thoughts!
TwoMarksHand
AG
No advice on holsters, but our local ISD has been arming teachers for the last 4 years or so. Only the school board know exactly which teachers carry. And I believe they all have training. And if I'm not mistaken, the ones who carry are strategically place around the campus.
ghollow
AG
My wife is a teacher and supports this idea.

Many of the teachers in her school are retired or ex-military or law enforcement. They understand what they would be getting themselves into and are more than ready to volunteer.

As far as holsters go, that will probably be in individual choice based on the individual and what they prefer.

Ideally, the students would not know who is carrying and who is not.
So the greatest civilization is one where all citizens are equally armed and can only be persuaded, never forced. It removes force from the equation... and that's why carrying a gun is a civilized act.
I Like Mike
AG
Do y'all know if weapon serial numbers. etc. are registered with the district? I guess I should find some districts that do this and get some of their ideas.
LoudestWHOOP!
AG
Do these Urban Carry Holsters work?
They seem to conceal well, but I have no practical experience.

TheEyeGuy
Sponsor
AG