Outdoors
Sponsored by

Cowboy Action Shooting

1,570 Views | 15 Replies | Last: 7 yr ago by Mr. Dubi
Swarely
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Does anyone here do this? Any tips on where to begin getting stuff together? How much is gonna cost? I have no experience with this whatsoever so anything would be of help to me.

Thanks and gig'em.
Swarely
Also, where can I go to watch a competition? I live in Austin, so close by would be ideal.
Bazooka Joe
AG
Chicago? All the practice you could want or see. Just take the train to any downtown stop. Get out and start walking.
Naveronski
AG
I used to shoot matches with my father.

Texas Historical Shootist Society in Colmbus. There might be something closer to you.
schmellba99
AG
http://www.sassnet.com

I would start here and see where they are hosting events and affiliated clubs. I know my range (nowhere near Austin) has some events on a monthly basis, so finding a place that has refular events is probably your best starting point.

Almost all of these types of shooting clubs or organizations are very welcoming to new members, so ask questions and you will likely get more help than you think.
Brush Country
I think I know a poster who's kids are into it. I will see if I can get him to chime in.
Post removed:
by user
Post removed:
by user
TwoMarksHand
AG
Only thing I know about Cowboy Action shooting is that they use wax bullets for practice. If anyone knows how I can utilize this cheap training for my 9mm semi auto, then I am all ears.
schmellba99
AG
TwoMarksHand said:

Only thing I know about Cowboy Action shooting is that they use wax bullets for practice. If anyone knows how I can utilize this cheap training for my 9mm semi auto, then I am all ears.

Will be difficult, if not impossible for a semi auto. The charge weights for the wax rounds are extremely light - many times it is just the primer only. Wont have enough juice to cycle the action on an auto. Works great on wheel guns, short barrel break actions, etc.