VPS vs. Shared for several small sites

730 Views | 5 Replies | Last: 1 yr ago by DAM
91AggieLawyer
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Looking to host multiple small sites, all that can be hosted with shared hosting. Thinking of going VPS so I can host them all under one account (assuming I can). However, I have little to no knowledge on this setup and looking for info and what I'd be getting myself into. I have used several shared hosting providers in the past.

1. Can I host several sites with VPS? (Assuming I can, just to be sure). These are small and load balancing should not be an issue.

2. What, if any, maintenance is required with VPS? Am I responsible for security? What about updates? I have some Linux command line experience as I have servers at home so this doesn't scare me but I may not know all the best security hacks. Plus I can't babysit the server, but I don't mind dealing with it on a twice-weekly basis.

3. Anything else that I need to know or any holes I'm risking falling into?

TIA
UmustBKidding
With VPS security will be an you issue. I use a VPS (Rack Nerds) for my asterisk instance which was super cheap, reliable and they have coupons often. but yes any and all updates and recovery will be on you.

You can for sure host several sites on VPS if you understand how to configure stuff to support virtual sites. But you will also have to understand setting up all they servers under your chosen os.

For general site hosting I have an unlimited reseller account on hostgator. So things like install and updates in general are take care of. Not perfect but if there is a new PHP, Wordpress, apache, MTA or other software almost always its just done for you. I have have 50+ sites at times and for $30 month it was far easier than dealing with even tracking any high priority patches on the dozens of application packages in most web/email/dns/.... server configurations.