New Cable Modem?

1,151 Views | 8 Replies | Last: 5 yr ago by GarlandAg2012
The Fife
How long do you want to ignore this user?
I've been using a Motorola SB6120 for over 7 years and never thought much about it. It's DOCSIS 3.0, everything worked and I can stream in 4K without any trouble. Our service is 100Mbps at $38/month after taxes.

Mrs Fife called them about an outage last weekend that lasted a few hours and when they followed up a couple of days later the person on the phone said that only 1 channel showed up on our cable modem from their end. It's supposed to be 4x4 so something isn't right. Maybe the lightning strike at our place in 2012 finally caught up with it.

Any advice for what to get? Our ISP rolled out DOCSIS 3.1 to our area earlier this year but we're not on a gigabit plan. I don't care if it has wifi, we already have a router that's pretty good.
UmustBKidding
That modem has reasonable logs & status page and I would check it first. If was in 1x mode would expect to see bad signal on channels and other indications. While its possible that you had a tech which was knows what direction is up, its far more likely that is one that uses that as the standard excuse.
I do recommend not integrating modem & router. Also docsis 3.1 is not a universal as 3.0. Lots of problems with specific chip sets with specific providers. Make sure on compatibility list and check on here for general known issues about firmware issues https://www.speedguide.net/broadband.php.
That modem while long in the tooth has been one of the reliable ones across many providers.
GarlandAg2012
AG
I have a 6190 that I've been happy with. If I were buying new, I'd get a SB8200 to try to be as future proof as possible assuming it was compatible with my provider.
The Fife