Creating an App

1,752 Views | 11 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by flintdragon
OldSoully
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Best resources available for a beginner?

Is this something that requires a lot of prior knowledge or an extensive amount of self-taught education? Would it be more feasible to consider a third party provider?
DAM
AG
If you have the time you can learn it. What are you trying to accomplish?

dam
boboguitar
AG
OldSoully said:

Best resources available for a beginner?

Is this something that requires a lot of prior knowledge or an extensive amount of self-taught education? Would it be more feasible to consider a third party provider?
If you've never programmed, I'd say you have at minimum 2 years of learning to do in your free time assuming you have an aptitude for it.
redd38
AG
iPhone, Android, or both?

Most programming is just copy & pasting from stackoverflow, you just have to figure out what to copy and where to paste it.
boboguitar
AG
redd38 said:

iPhone, Android, or both?

Most programming is just copy & pasting from stackoverflow, you just have to figure out what to copy and where to paste it.
Sshh, don't tell everyone the secret.
Lt_Dan
There is a free drag and drop programming website for Android called MIT App Inventor 2.
ai2.appinventor.mit.edu
This can work if you only want to create a couple of apps without taking the time to learn hardcore programming.
Generally you want to use Java for Android and Objective-C (similar to C++ but different enough to break your C++ code) for iOS. You also pretty much need a Mac to develop for Apple (or illegally run OS X on a "Hackintosh" or virtual machine on Non-Mac hardware) If your not already broke buying a Mac, then you have to pay for the cash for the Apple Developer License. With Android you have much more freedom to develop and publish your apps as you see fit.
TLDR: Android development is easier and cheaper than iOS development