Home Network setup

1,723 Views | 11 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by chjoak
chjoak
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
My current home network setup is lacking in coverage. I've been looking at the various wireless mesh networks and have decided that will be my best bet. I'm a novice when it comes to network configuration and hardware so I am figuring out several things as I go along. I'm leaning heavily towards Google WiFi based on the cost, reviews and ease of setup. Based on what I am reading / being told I am a little confused on what exactly I will need based on my needs. Suggestions / assistance is greatly appreciated...

My current setup is a cable modem wifi router combo upstairs in my office. That modem is hard wired to my desktop PC and a hub downstairs. The hub downstairs is hard wired to a TV, Roku & slave wifi router/repeater.

My issue with this setup is the lack of speed/performance downstairs and switching between wifi points. The issue is significantly worse with Apple devices. I'm sure it is likely a config issue but I'm not experienced enough to figure it out and I would like to upgrade my modem anyway.

My desired setup would a cable modem upstairs in my office hard wired to my PC and the primary wireless mesh hardware. The hub downstairs is optional.

Where my questions come into play...
The better rated cable modems I am finding have a single LAN port in the back meaning I need another piece of hardware in order to hard wire the PC as well as the wifi hardware. I'm told I will need a router to connect the modem to any other equipment I want hard wired. If that is accurate...
A) everything I am seeing on Amazon are wifi routers. I don't need the wifi portion due to the mesh network hardware. Do I get one of those and turn off the wifi or are there other good options available?
B) is it better to go with a modem/router combo and turn off the wifi?
C) is there an alternative config I could be looking at?
adamsbq06
AG
get the Orbi...