New to Android...any tips?

2,848 Views | 31 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by Ag12thman
fig96
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Hey nerds, made the switch from an iPhone to a Pixel and I'm really liking it, a few random bits I'm having to get used to or figure out but it's been a pleasant transition overall.

I am brand new to Android, however, and could use a few tips and any recommendations you've got. The idea of being able to replace stock apps is weird to me at this point A few questions...

- Best texting app? It seems like I can't hide the message while still showing the sender with Messenger, I've been reading great things about Textra but am open to other options.

- Recommended e-mail app? I'm not unhappy with Gmail but open to options, I need to sync 3 Gmail accounts and a standard POP account.

EDIT: I'd also love to be able to get an unread message count badge but it seems like Android doesn't really do that.

- Best Twitter client? I got Flamingo and like it so far, but I'd like something that let you tap a message to see the message and replies/thread on a new screen instead of just expanding (don't think Flamingo does this). Love Tweetbot on iOS.

- Any other must have apps?

- Any must have games? Enjoy arcade style titles as well as puzzlers.

Any other general tips you've got are welcome as well. Thanks!
FatZilla
AG
fig96 said:

Hey nerds, made the switch from an iPhone to a Pixel and I'm really liking it, a few random bits I'm having to get used to or figure out but it's been a pleasant transition overall.

I am brand new to Android, however, and could use a few tips and any recommendations you've got. The idea of being able to replace stock apps is weird to me at this point A few questions...

- Best texting app? It seems like I can't hide the message while still showing the sender with Messenger, I've been reading great things about Textra but am open to other options.