Oracle

1,252 Views | 23 Replies | Last: 11 yr ago by SpicewoodAg
Jim01
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Anybody out there a database person that can explain to me why people use Oracle? Why is it a better solution than SQL Server?

I have to say as a software developer I need to use databases for a handful of things: backup, restore, create/run scripts, create/run/debug stored procedures. And I can say that everytime I have to deal with Oracle I want to throw my computer through a window. God it's horrible. Just a complete pain in the arse to use. The worst UI on the planet. Just frustrating from beginning to end. Whereas, SQL Server is just easy as pie and user friendly out the rear.

Just had to vent. Every time I have a client issue with Oracle I want to say "Well, your first problem is that you are using Oracle!"

[This message has been edited by Jim01 (edited 6/4/2012 9:22a).]
Philip J Fry
AG
I've been using it for about a year now and I have to say its one of the least intuitive pieces of software I've dealt with.
SpicewoodAg
AG
I think for 90% of the applications out there SQL Server is a much better choice than Oracle.

There are a few cases though where Oracle can outperform SQL Server. Of course many use Oracle because it is available on whatever religion (OS) they believe in. Oracle will cost more, cost more in people, and take more time in tweaking, tuning, and configuration.
OregonAg
AG
quote:
The worst UI on the planet.

I take it you've never used DB2 lol.

Also, what UI are you talking about... are you talking the database admin stuff? You're not talking SQLPLUS are you? For development you should be using a tool like Toad or Pl/SQL developer.

quote:
Of course many use Oracle because it is available on whatever religion (OS) they believe in.