Job Network
Sponsored by

How Long to Sit on an Offer

1,922 Views | 3 Replies | Last: 1 yr ago by NASAg03
NASAg03
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Since the new year, I've been applying to a number of principal mechanical engineering positions within the space industry. I have 19 years experience, which includes NASA-JSC and a number of different start-ups, with work on the commercial space side.

I'm now getting a few offers, which is great, but there are a few more companies I'm interested in, and in the middle of the interview process, that are going slower (Blue Origin). I'd like to compare side-by-side real-time, but that's not possible due to various speeds that companies recruit at. The first offer is great and better than expected, and I do have a follow-up discussion with them tomorrow to address some more questions I have.

But they indicate the offer expires on Monday. I know there's leeway if they really want me, but it's a two-way street. They also want an employee that wants them. And I'm sure they have other candidates.

Just wondering how long I can drag my feet. In the past I've had companies throw on 24-48hr sign-on bonuses to get me to act quick, but I rejected those bonuses to get in a few more interviews and make an informed decision.

Thoughts?
Mike Shaw - Class of '03
Bunk Moreland
There's no right answer. That's the game potential employees and employers all play, and everyone handles it differently.

If they told you the offer expires Monday and you feel like some others you could be more interested in are dragging, send those recruiters a note asking if they can update you on the progress because you have another offer that expires next week but you're would prefer to stay committed to seeing it through with them if they can ensure you the process will conclude within the next week.