Job Network
Sponsored by

Resume Writing Services

1,508 Views | 11 Replies | Last: 1 yr ago by The Chicken Ranch
PlanoAg98
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I'm starting the process of looking for another job (IT Project Manager). I've been with my current company for 10+ years so my resume hasn't been touched up in a long while.

Does anyone have a recommendation on professional services that can do this? Below are the top 3 identified from a Google search. I'm doing well for myself financially, so the below example prices are not of concern.

I am not good a resume writing. I've been in the IT field since 1999 so I have a lot of experience but want to make sure I present it in the best possible manner.

I am not looking for someone off of TexAgs to do this for me!

Rudyjax
AG
There's a person that uses this board to shell their resume writing services. I would not recommend them.

Any of those would work.

As a PM, put yourself in the shoes of you are hiring a PM. What do want to know about them? That would be my starting point.

Summary
Chrono job history with achievements (ahead of schedule, under budget, timelines, etc)

The rest is pretty easy.

Deputy Travis Junior
I think resume services can help you polish your resume, but I wouldn't rely on them to do the heavy lifting unless you can find one that specializes in your area. Otherwise, they won't know enough about your field to adequately address all its nuances.

Here's what I'd recommend. Spend an hour on indeed looking at target jobs and copy down all the skills and experiences that they want you to have. Once you've done that for a dozen or so jobs, you can compare them to get a pretty good idea what skills are in high demand and by extension what you need to highlight. Build your job experience and skills sections and make sure that you include projects that highlight all of skills you uncovered (or just list them directly in technical skills).