Job Network
Sponsored by

Breaking into Blockchain

2,391 Views | 10 Replies | Last: 2 yr ago by administrative errors
Bluehazel
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I have about 15 years of experience in finance/ accounting and the upstream oil and gas industry in Houston. I got into bitcoin late last year and am completely obsessed with crypto and the possibilities it has to change everyday aspects of our lives. My dream job would be to work at a company at the intersection of energy and crypto. I have applied to dozens of crypto jobs, but having no tangible crypto experience is holding me back. Any suggestions on how someone with my background could break into the crypto industry?
JamesPShelley
Bluehazel said:

I have about 15 years of experience in finance/ accounting and the upstream oil and gas industry in Houston. I got into bitcoin late last year and am completely obsessed with crypto and the possibilities it has to change everyday aspects of our lives. My dream job would be to work at a company at the intersection of energy and crypto. I have applied to dozens of crypto jobs, but having no tangible crypto experience is holding me back. Any suggestions on how someone with my background could break into the crypto industry?

You've applied at dozens of jobs... but absent "tangible" experience.

When you look at those opportunity descriptions identifying what are the minimum candidate requirements... then comparing them, line-item by line-item, to your resume... are they aligning? Are they "speaking" to each other?

Does any of your historical employment experience even remotely reconcile with those requirements? When you're looking at the candidate requirements are you telling yourself, "That's me"? I've done that in one fashion or another", but wondering why you're not getting any "hits"?

Do you believe yourself qualified to perform the functions, in whatever capacity, of an entry-level crypto job?