Job Network
Sponsored by

Looking to Supplement Income as a SAS Programming Tutor

1,259 Views | 12 Replies | Last: 2 yr ago by Madagascar
Scrap Iron Ag
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Seeing if any of you had recommendations on the best way to go about getting started as a SAS tutor. I've been using it in industry for 27 years, do it extremely well, and have been a great source of help for numerous colleagues with it.

I just don't know where I could find people who would be interested in it. I'm in the DFW area, and was thinking maybe college students?

I welcome any thoughts/suggestions/questions.

Thank you very much.
Deputy Travis Junior
I see this is almost two weeks old, but have you considered putting together a course on udemy or something? Those sites get a ton of traffic, most of the courses are mediocre, and the site uses a rating system in its recommendation system. That's basically best case for you... You know, assuming you put together something that's high quality and don't add to the sea of mediocrity

Anyway, I just did a quick search and the first result for SAS programming had ~15k students. I don't know what the site's profit sharing policy looks like, but if you get even $5-10/enrollee, that's some serious cash.
Madagascar
AG
I would target colleges but I think you could really network if you go to SAS User Group (SUG) conferences. Many students show up there trying to learn SAS better for their jobs. If you give a lecture or tutorial, it could really help. I've been to PharmaSUG and it was fantastic for helping me embrace the SAS coding world.
RockOn
Make a Udemy course. Thats where the real money is
tpnick87
Shoot, I could use help. I just had my first graduate course with it and it was kind of jump in the deep end type of learning. I know my degree plan will have more encounters with it
Scrap Iron Ag
Scrap Iron Ag
AG