Job Network
Sponsored by

Switching Jobs too Often

5,376 Views | 28 Replies | Last: 3 yr ago by agdaddy04
Codes12
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Good morning. I am in need of input from the wise job board.

I am a December 2012 graduate in Agronomy. All my jobs have been in Agriculture. I got my first full time job in September of 2013. I only remained in that position for a few months as I was hired on as hourly and was promised a salaried position after the first of the next year. After the first of the year the position wasn't offered and I was told they had no clue when they would be able to get me a pay increase. Pay was terrible so I had too look elsewhere. My next job lasted two years before I was offered a position with another company for nearly twice the pay so I took it. Job three lasted three years before I was laid off as part of a merger between my company and another large Ag company. I took six months off to finish out a master's degree I was working on before returning to work a just over a year ago and am currently still employed by the same company.

Job 1 - September 2013 - February 2014 - 6 months
Job 2 - February 2014 - October 2015 - 21 months
Job 3 - November 2015 - July 2018 - 33 months
Current Job - February 2019 - Present - 16 months

I have recently been approached by another company about a position and have been through a few rounds of with them. I have been told me and another candidate are the last two in the running for the position. The position offers another good pay bump and is a better position than the one I currently hold with my current company.

My concern is if I do get the offer and accept it will be my 5th job in less than 10 years. Is that getting to a point of raising red flags in the future if this position wouldn't work out? If I receive an offer I could see myself being in this position for a long time. But you always got to consider the flip side and if it doesn't how bad is 5 jobs in 9 years.