Job Network
Sponsored by

How to ask for a raise?

3,081 Views | 28 Replies | Last: 4 yr ago by shihitemuslim
Billy Moose
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I work in marketing analytics for a midsized company in Austin and have been here just over a year. My teammate is leaving and a significant portion of her responsibilities will be mine. They have no plans to backfill her position. Now I make decent money, but asking for a raise here is warranted, right? I have the leverage in this situation and my boss even told me today "we would be devastated if you left". I've never asked for a raise before, so I'm hoping so more experienced posters will be able to help. Thanks!
500,000ags
AG
You might want to see if you can handle the new responsibilities first. Asking for a raise, and six months later saying this is really a two-person workload isn't a good look.
The Collective
AG
IrishTxAggie
AG
Did you have a one year eval. where you got a raise?
Billy Moose
AG
I got a raise about 3 months after I started, so coming up on one year ago. We also have evals twice a year, and my next one is probably coming up in couple of months. That should give me ample time to prove I can handle the new work and I can bring up a raise then. Thanks for your input, folks, I just needed to talk that out with someone.
$30,000 Millionaire
AG
I don't completely agree with the other person saying to do the job. Memories are fleeting and once they lose recognition that you are doing the jobs of two people, it won't count for you.

I think you should sit down with your boss to discuss the added responsibilities, and say something to the effect of "hey boss, I'm taking on a lot of work here because of coworker leaving. I'd like to make some more money. What do you think is possible and what do we need to do for that to happen?" Most good bosses love to give raises and bonuses. The question, though, is why they're not backfilling.
IrishTxAggie
AG
Quote: