Job Network
Sponsored by

2nd Job/Career Change Advice

3,678 Views | 14 Replies | Last: 4 yr ago by DoubleE65
DoubleE65
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I currently work in sales for a small, specialized oilfield service company. However my boss (owner) doesn't intend to add any new customers so I'm essentially just making sure current customers are taken care of and things are running smoothly which leaves a lot to be desired on my end. Pay and benefits are good but I have a ton of down time and I feel like I'm not gaining anything from this job.

I'd like to pick up a second job as my current one requires me on location ~6-8 days/month, otherwise I can handle what I need to remotely. I currently live in BCS and travel when needed.

Any advice on what kind of 2nd job I could pick up with that sort of availability? I'd also be interested in a total change in jobs for the right opportunity. My background is sales and event management/fundraising prior to that. I have undergrad and graduate degrees in sport management and was a 4-yr letterman under Mike Sherman.

Any and all advice is greatly appreciated!

EE
texan12
Find a hobby that can turn into a business or volunteer at an organization that could lead to contacts. Jobs that aren't demanding seem great for those who work non-stop or have a horrible boss, but it really kills the drive for those who have great work ethic and are seeking a passion.
DoubleE65
AG
I agree that some would find my situation favorable but for someone like me with a lot of drive and the need for attainable short and longterm goals it causes a lot of frustration and low job satisfaction.
DoubleE65
AG
Bump
Ragoo
AG
Why not call Hunter Goodwin and see if he needs sales for his commercial RE business?
DoubleE65
JamesPShelley