Job Network
Sponsored by

looking for entry level mechanical engineering position

3,031 Views | 19 Replies | Last: 4 yr ago by agimh82
YNWA_AG
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I am a recent mechanical engineering grad (December 2017), but I have had trouble locking down a full-time position out of college. Originally, I was working for a small-time engineering company part time out of college, but they did not have enough work to hire me on full-time. Recently, I passed the mechanical FE exam on my first attempt and subsequently gained my EIT license in late February of this year.

I have tried my best to set up meetings with family friends (etc.) to gain as much advice as possible and to understand their own individual career path. I am curious if anyone else has any helpful advice or knows of any openings in the Houston or Dallas areas.
coolerguy12
AG
https://texags.com/forums/18/topics/3026493

Did you email this guy?

Look for openings along 225 in Pasadena. I cut my teeth as a maintenance engineer at Lyondell, they hire a lot of new graduates.
YNWA_AG
AG
bump
Ragoo
AG
Midland is hiring
Ragoo
AG
Young engineer career path:

Path A:
Work at EPC doing detail **** data sheets for a couple of years
Go somewhere else

Path B:
Do **** field work for a service company away from home and friends for a couple of years
Leave for an operator

Path C:
Stay unemployed

aggie_wes
AG
I should have an opening soon in Fort Worth.
FC12
https://careers.us.hilti.com/en-us/jobs/technical-support-engineer-5

Interested?
Bird Poo
AG
Ragoo said:

Path A:
Go somewhere else

Path B:
Do **** field work for a service company away from home and friends for a couple of years
Leave for an operator

Path C:
Stay unemployed

This. I tell my kids to be prepared to work their ass off the first 5 years of college because experience is becoming more valuable than that damn degree.
Vivificus
AG
Ragoo said:

Path A:
Go somewhere else

Path B:
Leave for an operator

Path C: