Job Network
Sponsored by

So your spouse wants to get a PhD...

6,859 Views | 35 Replies | Last: 4 yr ago by Madagascar
Carlo4
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Also posted on academic board but wanted to try here.

Anyone else currently going through, or been through, a situation where the spouse is getting a PhD? How was it?

Our current situation:
-Received a $100,000 grant at OU plus stipend for full time
-3 year timeline. Goal to be a college professor.
-no kids, but our timeline would be having 1st during program (early 30s for her)

I'm incredibly excited for her and proud of her. However, I fear for the long nights, strain on a relationship, and being away from all our family/support (everyone is in DFW area).

Thanks for any feedback... I'm a worrier by trade. I found out about this tonight so my head is spinning! Unfortunately, she has about a week or two to answer in the affirmative!
Buck Compton
AG
What's your employment situation and what is the PhD in? Not all PhDs are created equal from a workload perspective.

While not this exact situation you can make anything work. I completed my MBA while dating my now wife (as she finished vet school) and travel 4-5 days a week for my job for over 3 years now.
Carlo4
AG
Good questions and thanks for responding.

I'm an engineer making $130k a year in salary and bonuses working 40 hours a week. It's a fantastic job and low stress. She's a BCBA working with kids with autism at 60 hours a week making about $80k. Terrible job with high stress, but she loves the field. Unfortunately her industry has similar hours across all jobs unless part time or non profit.

She's been told her time will be research/publishing papers, teaching classes, taking classes, and supervising BCBAs. To me that's a 80 hour week schedule knowing her work ethic/style and my past experience doing a full time Masters degree before we met.