Job Network
Sponsored by

Career Change- Best Approach Advice

1,758 Views | 10 Replies | Last: 5 yr ago by Bird Poo
20ags08
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I am looking into a career change after 9 years of teaching and coaching at the middle school level. I have enjoyed my time working with kids, but it's best for my family and myself to look into other career paths. Something with a more normal work schedule. I love coaching, but the odd hours from August-December are not something I would like to worry about when my wife and I start our family.

Coming out of High School I knew I wanted to be a coach and stay at the Middle School level. I never really wanted to move up to the high school. After 6 years of being an assistant at the middle school level, I have been the Athletic Coordinator on my campus for the past 3 including this current school year.

I graduated with a Kinesiology degree and Teacher Certification. I'm worried that limits me to other careers with such a specific degree. I am currently updating my resume, but all I have on there are the two school districts that I have worked for.

I'm just looking for advice from anyone that has been in a similar situation. A lot of jobs that I see online require 2-5 years of experience in 'X' field. What is the best approach for someone like me? Should I just start applying for jobs even if I don't quite meet their experience requirements? I'm fine with an entry level position as long as there is opportunity to move up, I know with my work ethic that won't be a problem.

My wife and I live in the NW Dallas area. If anyone has any tips or advice it will be greatly appreciated. You can comment or email me at 20ags08@gmail.com.

Thank you all for the help.
TRM
AG
I'd say decide on job/career you might find interesting or enjoy. Then try to meet people in the industry by networking and learn more about their jobs.
AgLA06
AG