Job Network
Sponsored by

Changing PSL in Halliburton - Career Assistance

3,455 Views | 9 Replies | Last: 5 yr ago by one MEEN Ag
Moh
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Howdy,
I am a mechanical engineer with a masters in petroleum engineering, it was hard for me to find a job in oil & gas so I was working with a construction company for the last two and a half years.

Recently, I have accepted an offer from Halliburton to work in Sperry with an intent to move to production enhancements or completions as soon as I can, I thought it will be easier to move while in Halliburton.

I was told today that I can't make a crossover to a different PSL before two to three years, I don't want to stay in Sperry for that long as my goal is to work as a production or completion engineer. I am seeking an advice/help from my fellow Aggies here as I feel that I got stuck in Sperry because of my poor judgment.

Thanks.
AgLA06
AG
That's pretty normal.

No one wants to spend 6 months getting you up to speed for you to transfer at the end of the year. It would kill them. The last place I worked had 18 month minimums on roles before you could make a jump. I thought that was pretty accommodating.

If you're up front about getting in to just make a jump it could complicate things. If you're truly looking for a career opportunity, it sounds like you have it. It's a lot easier to make a move to a competitor for the role you want if you're in a similar role once you've got two to three years experience at big red. Sounds like this opportunity could provide that in multiple forms.

Edited to add
TheMasterplan
You won't be moving PSLs any time soon - Halliburton is a large company and any internal moves have to be approved by the Sperry PSL. It's ok to show ambition by Halliburton isn't like that all the time. Training is expensive as mentioned above.